PDA

View Full Version : Ride Leads - Like your job?

saxman47
02-07-2006, 09:58 PM
Hey I came across the opportunity to possibly become a ride lead at Six Flags Great Adventure this year, and am debating whether I should follow through on the offer. Anybody here have comments/suggestions from your experiences as a ride op? I mean I love coasters and I don't mind responsibility, but the pay isn't that great and it would involve a hefty commute, so I'm debating whether I should do it or not. Any thoughts would be great!

medieval
02-07-2006, 10:02 PM
I'm not a rides lead, but I am an admissions lead. I worked at a few rides last year, but hey, if you can become a lead, go for it. Its a great experence.

Tbakmtown2006
02-09-2006, 11:11 PM
I will be starting as a "true" lead in April but I have had some experiences last year as a temp. I really enjoyed it but you get a lot of crap from the guests and even some higher ups.

PGH_Steeler
02-12-2006, 10:42 AM
thats funny how yall call them "leads" at kennywood we have ride managers. at least 2 on each crew. Head manager and assistant managers. the managers do everything that us regular red shirts do excpt, the head manager makes our weekly schedules thats basically it. and every once in a while the Supervisors call a meeting with all of the managers to talk about park issues or problems or other things that need to be brought up. But our ride "leads" or as we call them, managers are no different they just get paid a litte more, And have to deal with too much drama. i would wanna be a manager but if i never become one i wouldnt care cause they have to put up with too much.

ThunderDan
02-12-2006, 11:55 AM
It was a cool job. You get to make a difference. Some coaster enthusiasts make the worst leads, but I got nice compliments FROM GUESTS on my crews.