PDA

View Full Version : Search feature



edh101985
09-11-2006, 07:15 PM
I know I dont post much, but I still browse the forums. I dont know how new this feature is, but it is really annoying seeing "This forum requires that you wait 30 seconds between searches. Please try again in __ seconds." I can't see why you need that, and I really see no point. If you spell a word wrong, or something, you have to wait and type it again.

Steven
09-11-2006, 07:41 PM
It's designed to cut server load down. Searches take up processor time, and people can really cause it to slow down (almost bring down) a site if they perform lots of searches. So, it's in there as a precaution. Though, to put it in perspective, i've seen some that restrict you to one search every 1-2 minutes.

However, we do monitor server load and make adjustments as necessary.

sfft_2108
09-11-2006, 08:26 PM
I hardly use the search, but it sucks when you click on "new post" to much quickly, then you get that message that you have to wait X amount of seconds to search again.