Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 90 of 441

Thread: Computer questions

  1. #61
    Strata Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    9,272
    What is the best pop-up blocker available for a free download. I have been having a lot of problems with spyware pop-ups, and Spybot can't seem to handle them.





    Favorites: Amusement Park: EPCOT Center | Wooden Roller Coaster: El Toro | Steel Roller Coaster: Top Thrill Dragster

  2. #62
    Giga Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    1,989
    I would recommend that you download the Google tool bar here is a link.


    http://www.toolbar.google.com/

  3. #63
    Everything i try to log off my computer it does not log off the computer screen just turns to my background and no icons are there. Next i have to restart the computer on the tower thing were the cd rom drive is. Can anyone help me.

    SFFT_2108

  4. #64
    User of Prozac Cuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Kent, OH
    Posts
    11,878
    Hey phil, try increasing the securities on IE. This cuts down on spyware and what not. I had it to the point where every site I went to asked if I wanted to "cookie" it or not. I was amazed when weeks went by that I had 0 new pop-ups/spy issues.
    Ask me why I say Banshee is NOT the new Kings Island coaster.
    Be sure to check out Speedzone as I have made 11 additions.

    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point, circa 1989 | Wooden Roller Coaster: Blue Streak (CP) | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force (CP), never been on Drachen Fire

  5. #65
    Giga Poster
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, Georgia
    Posts
    1,989
    How do you increase the securities on IE?

  6. #66
    User of Prozac Cuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Kent, OH
    Posts
    11,878
    I believe this attached picture can help you. Found under TOOLS--->Internet Options.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tnhelp2.JPG 
Views:	204 
Size:	53.5 KB 
ID:	11193  
    Ask me why I say Banshee is NOT the new Kings Island coaster.
    Be sure to check out Speedzone as I have made 11 additions.

    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point, circa 1989 | Wooden Roller Coaster: Blue Streak (CP) | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force (CP), never been on Drachen Fire

  7. #67
    Strata Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    9,272
    What exactly do you suggest setting it to Andrew?





    Favorites: Amusement Park: EPCOT Center | Wooden Roller Coaster: El Toro | Steel Roller Coaster: Top Thrill Dragster

  8. #68
    Thrill Ryder Coastr Crazy 72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Upper NJ
    Posts
    2,531
    Hey I got a question about memory. I was looking at some laptops and trying to customize um, I came across one that had quite a few options for RAM memory. There were two that caught my eye and I couldn't understand what the difference was between them. Can someone explain to me what the difference is between these two -

    512MB DDR SDRAM 2 Dimms
    512MB DDR SDRAM 1 Dimm

  9. #69
    The Electronics Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Kentwood MI
    Posts
    2,710
    2 256MB DIMMs Vs. 1 512MB DIMM

  10. #70
    Thrill Ryder Coastr Crazy 72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Upper NJ
    Posts
    2,531
    Quote Originally Posted by Marc
    2 256MB DIMMs Vs. 1 512MB DIMM
    Ok I see. Thank you. Now I guess they both would be equivalent in performance and speed right?

  11. #71
    Tree hugger Skye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    5,909
    i think thats just the number of slots for expansion. So you can have maybe 4 slots (guess) and 512mb or ram, but that ram might be arranged as 1 512mb (taking 1 slot) or two 256 (taking up 2 slots). I don't know how many laptops have.

    Dimm is just modern memory, which can be added in any order (the old design is simms, which had to be added in identical pairs, so you could have 1 8mb or 2x 8mb, but you couldn't have 1 8mb + 1 16mb for example).

  12. #72
    Sharks Territory Kyle L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    7,540
    Quote Originally Posted by Coastr Crazy 72
    Ok I see. Thank you. Now I guess they both would be equivalent in performance and speed right?
    What DDR speed is it? There is PC2700 all the way up to PC3500. There's also different tricky things such as "DDR400" (Which is what I have) which is essentially PC3200. Bleh, ok to make it simple, the higher the PC**** DDR RAM speed is, the faster it is.

    Also, motherboards will either work better or worse with different configurations. The best (as I know of) is Dual Channel DDR. Which is Slot 1 and Slot 3 for the optimal usage of speed. See if theres something of that essence in the configuration.
    Thornton to Heatley all day, every day.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point | Wooden Roller Coaster: Mean Streak | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force

  13. #73
    Thrill Ryder Coastr Crazy 72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Upper NJ
    Posts
    2,531
    Quote Originally Posted by Kyle L
    What DDR speed is it? There is PC2700 all the way up to PC3500. There's also different tricky things such as "DDR400" (Which is what I have) which is essentially PC3200. Bleh, ok to make it simple, the higher the PC**** DDR RAM speed is, the faster it is.

    Also, motherboards will either work better or worse with different configurations. The best (as I know of) is Dual Channel DDR. Which is Slot 1 and Slot 3 for the optimal usage of speed. See if theres something of that essence in the configuration.
    Well I'm not sure the motherboard. Whichever motherboard Dell likes to use in their inspiron 5150 laptop.

    I also don't know what speed it is. I only know the information given.

  14. #74
    Let gravity do the work.
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    7,557
    My eMachines computer recently just died out. I was using the word processor and it blanked out and just restarted by itself out of nowhere - and when it gets to the Windows XP thing with that loading bar, it doesn't go to the desktop - it just restarts again. It does it over and over. I'm thinking it's a virus, but I don't know how I can get rid of it without having to erase everything that's already on the hard drive...hundreds of MP3's, school files, porn...

  15. #75
    Thrill Ryder Coastr Crazy 72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Upper NJ
    Posts
    2,531
    Quote Originally Posted by kraxleRIDAH
    My eMachines computer recently just died out. I was using the word processor and it blanked out and just restarted by itself out of nowhere - and when it gets to the Windows XP thing with that loading bar, it doesn't go to the desktop - it just restarts again. It does it over and over. I'm thinking it's a virus, but I don't know how I can get rid of it without having to erase everything that's already on the hard drive...hundreds of MP3's, school files, porn...
    I got directions on how to run a virusscan in DOS mode but it is only if you have Mcafee already installed on your computer. If you do have Mcafee then PM me and I will give you the instructions, ok?

  16. #76
    I'm the good looking one Steven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Where Brian F dreams of living
    Posts
    9,651
    There is no DOS mode in Windows XP (DOS no longer exists in Windows NT/2000/XP, just an emulation of it), and there is no way whatsoever to see the drive in DOS unless the hard drive is formatted FAT32 and you have Win95b/98/ME boot disk. Even if you get to a command line through an XP CD, it's still not DOS. Everything is run through the XP kernel.

    he should try to run the system restore or repair utility that should come with his eMachines computer. Try to repair first before wiping clean and starting over.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Holiday World | Wooden Roller Coaster: Voyage | Steel Roller Coaster: Magnum

  17. #77
    Thrill Ryder Coastr Crazy 72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Upper NJ
    Posts
    2,531
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven
    There is no DOS mode in Windows XP (DOS no longer exists in Windows NT/2000/XP, just an emulation of it), and there is no way whatsoever to see the drive in DOS unless the hard drive is formatted FAT32 and you have Win95b/98/ME boot disk. Even if you get to a command line through an XP CD, it's still not DOS. Everything is run through the XP kernel.

    he should try to run the system restore or repair utility that should come with his eMachines computer. Try to repair first before wiping clean and starting over.
    Ok maybe if it isn't exactly DOS. I think it is actually Safe Mode with Command Prompt but Mcafee refered to it as DOS.

    I had a gateway once and anything they tried to help me with only screwed me up even more. Worst service and anything they give you to run is probably crap. But anything is better then just restoring everything. I think a virusscan would be a better first step.

    Kraxle if you have Mcafee please PM me. My method does work and it has for me in the past.

  18. #78
    User of Prozac Cuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Kent, OH
    Posts
    11,878
    Yeah well, this Gateway I have is slowly becoming more of an un-Gateway. SInce I have had it more than 3 years, support is kinda nil, though I was able to fix a few things for their help, I guess.

    Here's the deal...I need suggestions on CD Burning software. I am NOT purchasing online, so the next best bets are something I could get from Best Buy, Circuit City, Software Etc (Babbages or whatever name they go by), Wal-Mart, etc.
    Ask me why I say Banshee is NOT the new Kings Island coaster.
    Be sure to check out Speedzone as I have made 11 additions.

    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point, circa 1989 | Wooden Roller Coaster: Blue Streak (CP) | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force (CP), never been on Drachen Fire

  19. #79
    Wooden Poster Jo Scooti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Bristol, England (UK)
    Posts
    159
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrew Polcyn
    Here's the deal...I need suggestions on CD Burning software. I am NOT purchasing online, so the next best bets are something I could get from Best Buy, Circuit City, Software Etc (Babbages or whatever name they go by), Wal-Mart, etc.
    I would suggest getting a copy of NERO 5.5, its very good, and does loadsa fancy stuff.
    HAVE YOU SAT NEXT TO THE INVISABLE COASTER MAN YET!!!!!!!!!
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Islands of Adventure | Wooden Roller Coaster: Megathobia (Oakwood), Falken (Farup Sommerland, Den) | Steel Roller Coaster: The Increadible Hulk Coaster (IOA)

  20. #80
    Sharks Territory Kyle L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    7,540
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven
    There is no DOS mode in Windows XP (DOS no longer exists in Windows NT/2000/XP, just an emulation of it), and there is no way whatsoever to see the drive in DOS unless the hard drive is formatted FAT32 and you have Win95b/98/ME boot disk. Even if you get to a command line through an XP CD, it's still not DOS. Everything is run through the XP kernel.

    he should try to run the system restore or repair utility that should come with his eMachines computer. Try to repair first before wiping clean and starting over.
    You can create a MS-DOS boot disk on a floppy. Insert a fresh floppy, go to the tab "Format" and select the box "Create Startup Disk". Insert it upon booting up your computer, and MS-DOS prompt should come up. If it doesn't, there is a problem with your boot order in the BIOS. That's how I got to MSDOS.
    Thornton to Heatley all day, every day.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point | Wooden Roller Coaster: Mean Streak | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force

  21. #81

    Mouse problem

    Hi, I just got a new hp laptop and the mouse will automatically move to the x and close my program - I've tried all the anti virus software - any help?

  22. #82
    Strata Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    9,272
    Should I install all the updates Windows automatically tries to install, or is a lot of that stuff just crap that won't affect me and just take up space on my computer.





    Favorites: Amusement Park: EPCOT Center | Wooden Roller Coaster: El Toro | Steel Roller Coaster: Top Thrill Dragster

  23. #83
    User of Prozac Cuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Kent, OH
    Posts
    11,878
    I do install them. You can also configure it so that Windows updates when YOU want to. Right-click on MY COMPUTER, proceed to Properties--->Automatic updates. I have it set where it notifies me prior to downloading any updates.
    Ask me why I say Banshee is NOT the new Kings Island coaster.
    Be sure to check out Speedzone as I have made 11 additions.

    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point, circa 1989 | Wooden Roller Coaster: Blue Streak (CP) | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force (CP), never been on Drachen Fire

  24. #84
    Sharks Territory Kyle L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    7,540
    My Professional Service Pack 1 forbids any auto updating. Is this a problem? Can it be fixed?

    I won't be too mad if I can't adjust it, you can allways go to the website.
    Thornton to Heatley all day, every day.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point | Wooden Roller Coaster: Mean Streak | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force

  25. #85
    Thrill Ryder Coastr Crazy 72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Upper NJ
    Posts
    2,531
    Hey I just have 2 simple questions.

    Intel Extreme Graphics 2 (64 mb). Is that a good video card? Will I be able to play some video games like Call of Duty or watch movies with that video card on a laptop (Alienware)?

    Intel Pentium 4 1.4Ghz(centrino technology). For my price range, that is the best processor I could customize into the laptop but I need to know if that is good enough for my laptop to run fast and be able to play games and any other stuff I might do on the laptop (Alienware)?
    Last edited by Coastr Crazy 72; 04-06-2004 at 03:30 PM.

  26. #86
    Sharks Territory Kyle L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    7,540
    Quote Originally Posted by Coastr Crazy 72
    Hey I just have 2 simple questions.

    Intel Extreme Graphics 2 (64 mb). Is that a good video card? Will I be able to play some video games like Call of Duty or watch movies with that video card on a laptop (Alienware)?

    Intel Pentium 4 1.4Ghz(centrino technology). For my price range, that is the best processor I could customize into the laptop but I need to know if that is good enough for my laptop to run fast and be able to play games and any other stuff I might do on the laptop (Alienware)?

    Intel Graphics will not work with anything. And if it does, you will get insanley horrible results. If this isn't your gaming machine you should be okay. It should play videos, but don't expect ANY games to be playable on it.

    The centrino is nice, but it's more of if itll last in a few years.
    Thornton to Heatley all day, every day.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point | Wooden Roller Coaster: Mean Streak | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force

  27. #87
    What it iz bk2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    7,752
    I have Outlook Express as my e-mail server and I have been getting this e-mail from them lately saying this...

    Quota exceeded for cp1870@access4less.net 5178532+5174869>5000000

    This message is an automatic warning that you need to reduce disk usage
    you should read and delete messages from your inbox or other folders.
    You may also need to empty your trash and/or delete messages in your
    sent or spam folders.


    When I get mail, I read it then delete it. When I delete it, I delete it again out of my 'Deleted Items' folder. There is no messages in any of my folders, except 3 that are in my 'Saved Mail' category. Paramount's Carowinds Newsletter #1, #2, & #3. Besides those three, that's it! I don't see why I am getting this message because clearly I am harldy taking up any space.
    I just really hope that you think of me, because I'm tryna be unforgettable...
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point -- Islands Of Adventure -- Dollywood | Wooden Roller Coaster: Thunderhead | Steel Roller Coaster: Magnum XL-200 & Phantom's Revenge

  28. #88
    I'm the good looking one Steven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Where Brian F dreams of living
    Posts
    9,651
    You need to go to your ISP and discuss that with them. Check to see if you are leaving messages on your server if you're using Outlook Express. Go to Tools > Accounts > <Your access4less.net account settings> (click properties) > Advanced Tab > See if "Leave a copy of messages on the server" is checked or not. If it is, uncheck it. Then you need to see if your ISP has webmail and clear it. Otherwise, you will need to call their technical support and have them empty your mailbox or see if they have tools where you can do that yourself online.

    It really doesn't matter what you have on your home computer, it's on the ISP's servers.

    That is the definitive answer. Why? I work for XO Communications, which has the Concentric Dial-Up Internet Service as well as shared/dedicated hosting, and I get about 2-5 calls concerning quota overages because of e-mail per day.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Holiday World | Wooden Roller Coaster: Voyage | Steel Roller Coaster: Magnum

  29. #89
    Let gravity do the work.
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    7,557
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven
    There is no DOS mode in Windows XP (DOS no longer exists in Windows NT/2000/XP, just an emulation of it), and there is no way whatsoever to see the drive in DOS unless the hard drive is formatted FAT32 and you have Win95b/98/ME boot disk. Even if you get to a command line through an XP CD, it's still not DOS. Everything is run through the XP kernel.

    he should try to run the system restore or repair utility that should come with his eMachines computer. Try to repair first before wiping clean and starting over.
    That's the problem. All the materials that came with the computer were tossed out by my mother. So I don't have anything to work with at home. And I tried CoasterCrazy's suggestions given through PM and it still doesn't change the weird acting up with the computer. I called Best Buy and just having them diagnose the problem comes close to $40 for half an hour's time spent and then the actual repair is another $50. I don't want to spend that kind of money just to remove a virus (or so I think it is).

  30. #90
    mysql_fetch_array($title) ; coasterz44's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    962
    That's the problem. All the materials that came with the computer were tossed out by my mother. So I don't have anything to work with at home. And I tried CoasterCrazy's suggestions given through PM and it still doesn't change the weird acting up with the computer. I called Best Buy and just having them diagnose the problem comes close to $40 for half an hour's time spent and then the actual repair is another $50. I don't want to spend that kind of money just to remove a virus (or so I think it is).
    What model emachine do you have? Because I have an emachine too. (Model: S2482). I still have the restore discs, so If you have the same model, or if you or anyone esle knows if the restore discs will work with your model, send me a PM, and I'll find a way to get a copy of the dics to you... if you want them.

Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •