Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 120 of 441

Thread: Computer questions

  1. #91
    What it iz bk2004's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    7,752
    Quote Originally Posted by Steven
    You need to go to your ISP and discuss that with them. Check to see if you are leaving messages on your server if you're using Outlook Express. Go to Tools > Accounts > <Your access4less.net account settings> (click properties) > Advanced Tab > See if "Leave a copy of messages on the server" is checked or not. If it is, uncheck it. Then you need to see if your ISP has webmail and clear it. Otherwise, you will need to call their technical support and have them empty your mailbox or see if they have tools where you can do that yourself online.

    It really doesn't matter what you have on your home computer, it's on the ISP's servers.
    Thanks. I did what you said and look to see if the "Leave a copy of messages on the server" is checked or not. Well, it wasn't, so I am going to have to call the ISP webmaster anyways. Thanks though.

    Oh yeah, I got the message again today.
    I just really hope that you think of me, because I'm tryna be unforgettable...
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point -- Islands Of Adventure -- Dollywood | Wooden Roller Coaster: Thunderhead | Steel Roller Coaster: Magnum XL-200 & Phantom's Revenge

  2. #92
    Kissimmee Skycoaster Poster Intamin42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    874
    I have a laptop, and I can't decide if it's better to leave it on almost 24/7 or turn it off/on, off/on, off/on, etc. What is better for it? Can laptops be left on as long and treated like a desktop?

  3. #93
    Thrill Ryder Coastr Crazy 72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Upper NJ
    Posts
    2,531
    Yea I was actually wondering that also. My laptop should be here soon and I needed to know that. Here is a link to helpful information about batteries and laptops that I found. It doesn't answer the question directly but maybe it can help you figure out an answer.

    http://reviews.cnet.com/4520-3121_7-...html?tag=prmo1

    At the bottom of that page is a link to more battery information that could be helpful. It is labeled "How Battery Works"

  4. #94
    Suspended Poster coaster_kid89's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    South Ohio
    Posts
    640
    I belive with laptops it matters what computer you got. For example... I have A VPR Matrix laptop. It was shown as a desktop replacement and is made to withstand long running times. Now with an inch thick 15 inch wide-screen, it has a nice fan and a better vent system. With the new thinner computers they might not be able to take the heat and stress with 48-72+hour running span.
    I LOVE ANN COULTER Dont Mess with me, I am an extemporaneous speaker. If you know what that is and what it means, give yourself a cookie. Also I am the only Conservative Libertarian on this site, and proud of it.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: PKI | Wooden Roller Coaster: Son Of Beast | Steel Roller Coaster: MF

  5. #95
    Kissimmee Skycoaster Poster Intamin42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    874
    Mine is a Dell Ispiron 1100 and it, too, was described as a desktop replacement. So I guess it is ok to leave it on for a few days?

  6. #96
    hey i have a dell and when i turn it on and then click on my name to login it takes about 7 minutes when it should only take 30 secons at the most and everything else runs superfast. its also not an old computer so could someon help me

  7. #97
    Thrill Ryder Coastr Crazy 72's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Upper NJ
    Posts
    2,531
    Could be something wrong with XP but you might also be loading a crap load of stuff when you sign onto your name.

  8. #98
    3D accelerated video card with at least 16 MB Video-RAM
    Ok Folks, i need this to play run the simulator in no-limits. So i don't know anything about this. So am i like suppose to download this or is it suppose to come with my computer. I have no idea.

  9. #99
    Minetrain Poster SoSweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    31
    It is a computer component and a very small one at that. It is something that is plugged into or is an integrated part of you computer mother board.

    If you would like to know what your sytem has and the health of each component I found a very nice utility.

    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html


    It will analyze your computer components and even give you a run down of all the software and its versions installed in your computer. Really nice little free utility give it a try.

    When I first got it it told me one of the hard drives I had was going out and I was able to get everything out before it crashed.

    And it is free.

    EDIT: OOPs!! Sorry about that guys my bad
    Last edited by SoSweet; 04-24-2004 at 04:23 AM.
    Support Manager - RCT Depot
    On Track With The RCT Community
    Our Family Home, Is Your Family Home
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Six Flags Great America

  10. #100
    Thanks, but the link doesn't work. Can you re link me to the website or something like that.

  11. #101
    Minetrain Poster CardShark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    64
    Remove one of the http://'s
    A word of advice: Moderate Quantity of food+ Gravitron= Not a fun ride

  12. #102
    oh ok, lol i didn't see that. SILLY ME. lol

    OK now that I downloaded this program. What am i looking for. I don't know where to go next. I went to the website that has all the stuff on you computer. SO what do i need to look for.
    Last edited by Cuddy; 04-23-2004 at 09:38 PM. Reason: the edit button is your friend.

  13. #103
    User of Prozac Cuddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Kent, OH
    Posts
    11,878
    Well, I am within a week of getting my new system.

    MoBo
    with 512 MB Ram (PC2100), AMD Athalon XP 2400 Processor (2.0 GHz)
    with this case.

    Add in Windows XP Home and retail for this badboy will be a mere $443 out of pocket.
    Ask me why I say Banshee is NOT the new Kings Island coaster.
    Be sure to check out Speedzone as I have made 11 additions.

    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point, circa 1989 | Wooden Roller Coaster: Blue Streak (CP) | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force (CP), never been on Drachen Fire

  14. #104
    Sharks Territory Kyle L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    7,540
    Using the parts I reccomended huh there Andrew

    I am also ordering my Radeon 9800 Pro (or XT) sometime soon. Hooray!

    So therefore, my old video card is for sale, again.
    Thornton to Heatley all day, every day.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point | Wooden Roller Coaster: Mean Streak | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force

  15. #105
    Minetrain Poster SoSweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    31
    Once you download the program simply open it. It will install itself, build a profile and then a webpage will open with all your components, updates you have installed as well as the programs and the version numbers you have. The area that specifially deals with the kind of graphics card you have is found in the display area. You will get the information about the manufacturer and modle. Go to the webpage for the manufacturer to get specs on it.

    This is what is listed in mine for example.

    NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 [Display adapter]

    If your not sure where to look for your manufacturer, simply paste what appears in that area to Google and you should be able to go right to it.

    Your right there is a ton of information provided to you in that page. But it is also very intersting info. Just a bit of FYI this information is not collected and uploaded to the site. See the privacy notice.
    Support Manager - RCT Depot
    On Track With The RCT Community
    Our Family Home, Is Your Family Home
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Six Flags Great America

  16. #106
    Tree hugger Skye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    5,909
    Quote Originally Posted by sfft_2108
    3D accelerated video card with at least 16 MB Video-RAM
    Ok Folks, i need this to play run the simulator in no-limits. So i don't know anything about this. So am i like suppose to download this or is it suppose to come with my computer. I have no idea.
    easier to run dxdiag

    srat->run-> dxdiag

    that'll tell you what you have. the card is the video card, and i think it needs to support opengl for no limits to run (most do but there are some old cheap cards still that aren't very good that were given away with pcs).

    If you have a built in card (like that intel, previous page), first make sure you buy something good like a geforce 4 or later, then disable the onboard card through bios on startup.

  17. #107
    Hey Kyle, what's your old vid card? My friend is looking for a new one, and he might be interested.

  18. #108
    Well, mine is a NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420 so since yours is a 5200 and mine is only 420 i think our problem is right there. So am i suppose to buy this or what. I have no clue what to do. Thanks for the help sosweet.

  19. #109
    Minetrain Poster SoSweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    31
    According to the info on your card

    http://www.nvidia.com/page/geforce4mx.html

    This card should run what you are looking to do. You my want to download the latest drivers if you seem to be having problems.

    Those can be found here

    http://www.nvidia.com/content/drivers/drivers.asp

    Use the wizard to get the drivers for your operating sytem.

    If you decide you wish to upgrade to a different card their are several site that offer them at excellent prices.

    Personally I like Nvidia. I have had nothing but problems with ATI drivers in XP. Chronic problem they have.

    Installing them is extremely easy. You do need to make sure your mother board will handle it though.

    SoSweet
    Last edited by SoSweet; 04-24-2004 at 10:10 AM.
    Support Manager - RCT Depot
    On Track With The RCT Community
    Our Family Home, Is Your Family Home
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Six Flags Great America

  20. #110
    Sharks Territory Kyle L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    7,540
    Quote Originally Posted by satanhanx
    Hey Kyle, what's your old vid card? My friend is looking for a new one, and he might be interested.

    It's a AOpen nVidia GeForce FX 5200.

    Right now I am OCing it to Ultra settings because I have extra coolage running and it's doing fine.

    So you can IM me or E-Mail me about it.

    And as of drivers for nVidia cards, nVidia just released a new driver April 1st, 2004. You can get it at: www.nvidia.com
    For ATi users, ATi released new Catalyst Drivers, you can get them at: www.ati.com
    Thornton to Heatley all day, every day.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point | Wooden Roller Coaster: Mean Streak | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force

  21. #111
    Minetrain Poster SoSweet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    31
    Quote Originally Posted by Skye
    easier to run dxdiag

    srat->run-> dxdiag

    that'll tell you what you have. the card is the video card, and i think it needs to support opengl for no limits to run (most do but there are some old cheap cards still that aren't very good that were given away with pcs).

    If you have a built in card (like that intel, previous page), first make sure you buy something good like a geforce 4 or later, then disable the onboard card through bios on startup.
    I couldn't agree with you more but unfortunately alot of the people in general don't know how to do this let alone remember the commands they need to run.

    The tool (Belarc Advisor) I suggested makes it easier for those who are relatively new to computers. For those who are more advanced it is a great tool for finding out component health. When the profile is built all components from the mother board on down are tested and it alerts you to weaknesses and potential problems. It alerted me to a weakness in a hard drive and it told a friend of mine about an impending failure of the old mother board she had in her old computer. She made sure she kept everything backed up and about a month later the motherboard did fail completely.

    Lastly it also gives a very complete and easy to read list of all software including version number installed in your machine including windows updates.
    Support Manager - RCT Depot
    On Track With The RCT Community
    Our Family Home, Is Your Family Home
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Six Flags Great America

  22. #112
    OK, is there a way to fully delete files. I have some files that i don't want on my computer anymore. I right click them and then click delete. Then they are sent to the recyle bin. Then i empty It. When i restart my computer, the files were back on the computer. Does anyone know any programs, that can permantly delete the file? I know on the show "Call For Help" on Tech Tv they had a program that can delete the files permantly but i searched the site and i couldn't find it. So if you would help me out here. Thanks.

  23. #113
    Sharks Territory Kyle L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    7,540
    It could be a virus, I would try booting the computer in safe mode, and then trying to delete the files. That SHOULD work because Safe Mode is well....safe.

    And speaking of PC's, I just ordered my video card today! Yahoo!

    It's a: Gainward nVidia GeForce FX 5900XT
    Thornton to Heatley all day, every day.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point | Wooden Roller Coaster: Mean Streak | Steel Roller Coaster: Millennium Force

  24. #114
    Yeah, i was talking to some people on this site on aim, which i like now and i think it is better than msn. Well it is a bunch of porn files, with some other files like how to crack a system and they are all ms dos files, also there is a bunch of other radom files.So let me try to delete the files in safe mode and see what happends.

  25. #115

    Help with MSN 9.0 Dial Up.

    Ok i just recently downloaded MSN 9.0 and installed it. The first time i use 9.0 it worked fine. The next time it wouldn't sign in. OK i click on the little MSN icon on my desktop. MSN sign in comes up. I click on my user name. Then type in my password then click sign in. Ok MSN doesn't sign in. Ok i close out of the sign in screen. Now i hear the internet dialing up. There is no sign in screen and that. Ok then when it finishes dialing up, the sign in screen come up. Then i click on my s/n and then i am able to get online. Is there a way to fix this problem. Thanks

  26. #116
    I'm the good looking one Steven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Where Brian F dreams of living
    Posts
    9,651
    MSN support. That's definately a software issue.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Holiday World | Wooden Roller Coaster: Voyage | Steel Roller Coaster: Magnum

  27. #117
    Wait, i am lost. So is that a good thing or bad thing. ^^^^

  28. #118
    Heartline Poster Sparks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cardboard box, California
    Posts
    1,038
    Hey! If anyone needs a good program to get rid of spyware and adware go to www.download.com and download ad-aware 6.0 I think its called that but im not sure. Its really good

  29. #119
    Strata Poster
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    9,272
    My computer has all of a sudden gotten really slow. On the bottom it says that my Virtual Memory is low, but I know that I have plenty of RAM and hard drive space left so that doesn't make any sense. Do you guys have any suggestions?





    Favorites: Amusement Park: EPCOT Center | Wooden Roller Coaster: El Toro | Steel Roller Coaster: Top Thrill Dragster

  30. #120
    It's Adware and Spyware that's slowing you down. They run in the background and eat up memory pretty quick. The easy way to get rid of it is to download a program like Ad-Aware or Spybot Search and Destroy. These will find the programs and get rid of them for you. The hard way is to do it yourself by looking for the programs or getting into the task manager and ending anything that you don't want running.

    I recommend the easy way.
    How's this for school? Walt Disney World. Yep, you read that right. I'm here from 8/23/04 to 1/03/05 working in Fantasyland, and sometimes Tommorowland.
    Favorites: Amusement Park: Cedar Point | Wooden Roller Coaster: Son of Beast | Steel Roller Coaster: Millenium Force & Top Thrill Dragster

Page 4 of 15 FirstFirst 1234567814 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •